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Resume Writing Tips – The Perfect Resume Template Part IV: Get Recruiters To Pursue You!

By Career, Resume Writing 3 Comments

PART IV OF IV IN THE “RESUME WRITING TIPS – THE PERFECT RESUME TEMPLATE” SERIES

In the previous post in the “Perfect Resume” series titled, “” you learned how to stop Recruiters in their tracks through a thoughtful, compelling, and creative Professional Summary and Tagline. Next, we’ll update your job search so that you work smarter, not harder.

There are two ways to go about your job search, the old way and the new way.  In this final post, we’ll discuss both approaches, and tie everything we’ve discussed together giving you a complete picture of how you should approach your job search and why you should implement this method now, whether you are passively reviewing opportunities,  or actively pursuing a new job.

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THE TRADITIONAL JOB SEARCH: SELLING UMBRELLAS ON A SUNNY DAY

When you were a child, did you ever have to sell things or raise money for a school charity by going door-to-door?  If so, then you know the pain of “push” selling, where you have to convince someone to do what you want against natural inertia or resistance. Ever walk past someone who was trying to stop you to get you to contribute to their cause.  Here in San Francisco, I get approached daily whenever I pass in front of the Apple store in my neighborhood, be it by the Sierra Club, Greenpeace, or other cause du jour.  I too have done intercepts to gather marketing intel in front of stores, so I know how hard this can be.  This type of engagement is tantamount to selling umbrellas on a sunny day; you are trying to disrupt normal patterns of behavior and convincing people to give their attention to something that is not a pressing need at that moment.

This is essentially what most people do when it comes to their job search; they send a general purpose resume to the Recruiter and expect them to translate that resume to the needs of the requisitions they are filling. Even if the candidate submits a resume tailored to the role, they are still “pushing” a resume, trying to disrupt the normal patterns of the Recruiter, which is to actively search for the “perfect” candidate.

Let’s talk about an alternative, smarter approach that goes with the proverbial flow of how a Recruiter fills requisitions.

THE SMARTER JOB SEARCH: GIVING AWAY UMBRELLAS ON A RAINY DAY

Now, let’s imagine that you are giving away umbrellas on a rainy day, not only that, but you are giving them away in front of the people’s houses who don’t own umbrellas and are hence, your perfect target customer.  Let’s just say your business will be VERY successful.

We want to do the same thing with your resume (the umbrella) and the recruiters hiring for your target positions (the umbrella-less customers on a rainy day).  And here’s how we’ll do it.  We’ll hone your resume to be tightly aligned with the needs of your target job type, say Engineering, Product, Sales or Marketing, using the Keywords that recruiters are searching for (which we discussed in Part I on Keywords). We’ll make sure we focus first on the stage of the job search funnel that makes the most sense (Part II: Data-driven Job Seeker). Next, we’ll craft a Professional Summary on our resume and a Tagline on our LinkedIn Profile that entices recruiters to dig deeper into our carefully crafted career arc story (Part III: Professional Summaries). The last component has increasingly become more important in this data-driven world.

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YOUR SUCCESS STATEMENTS – SAY IT WITH A BULLET

The majority of recruiters in our “Expert Recruiter Round-up” stressed the importance of candidates quantifying their successes in previous positions. In other words, what was their BUSINESS IMPACT? How did they move the needle? Was it by driving revenue or cutting costs?  Did they increase efficiency or develop a new product or revenue stream? The logical location on your resume to list your successes is in your employment history.

For each position in your work history, you will have:

  1. Heading row – company name, your job title, company location (city, state), dates of employment
  2. Responsibilities – paragraph that details what you did in that role descending in importance from the top
  3. Success Statements – 2-5 bullets that quantify your successes in that role that impacted the business

Here, we are only going to talk about Success Statements due to their extreme importance. 

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Again, your Success Statements should include quantified measures of your successes and impact to the business. Additionally, they should use one or more of the following: milestones, KPIs, measures, dates, time periods, dollar amounts, percentages or absolute values. Here’s a few examples of quantified successes:

  1. Launched company from seed to 2,000+ customers, achieved consistent 30% MoM growth, and built a compelling data driven story for investors resulting in $7MM series A funding
  2. Decreased CAC by 85% & increased conv. rate from 2% to 3.5% leveraging a/b testing
  3. Strategized partner/content/SEO strategy that delivers 6,000+ unique, new monthly visitors
  4. Mapped customer journey (touchpoints, channels & comms.) that delivered a 72 NPS

Every role in a company is filled to serve a business need. Success Statements are your opportunity to show how well you’ve lived up to the needs of your previous roles. If you’ve exceeded sales quota’s three quarters in a row or made the President’s Club, here’s your chance to show them off.

The better your Success Statements, the more likely you will receive a screening call by a recruiter, so take some time to perfect these, after you have fixed higher priority items on your resume.

PUTTING IT ALL TOGETHER: THE “RESUME REVIVE + THRIVE” CHALLENGE

We’ve covered a LOT in the “Perfect Resume” blog series. As I’m sure you can see, it takes a lot to hone your resume to the point where it consistently gets you recruiter screening calls without fail. But there’s no reason that you need to start from scratch.

It has taken me several years and hundreds of iterations of my Resume and LinkedIn Profile to get to the point that I am today, where I attract several great job inquiries per week from my LinkedIn Profile and almost without fail get a recruiter screening call for every online job application that I submit. But perhaps you want to get results faster than I did, and that’s why I have created the “Resume Revive + Thrive” CHALLENGE.

The “Resume Revive + Thrive” CHALLENGE is the FASTEST way to significantly improve your resume in the absolute LEAST amount of time. And best of all, it’s free!

Get started now by clicking the ribbon image below:

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EXPERT RECRUITER ROUND-UP: THE PERFECT BOOST FOR YOUR “RESUME REVIVE + THRIVE” CHALLENGE

After you’ve signed up for the Resume Revive + Thrive” CHALLENGE , check out the “Expert Recruiter Round-up” where you’ll learn even more great tips from nationally recognized recruiting all-stars. Why take my word for what makes the “Perfect Resume” when you can hear it directly from the gatekeepers themselves. Yeehaw! Let the Round-up begin!

Your Personal Brand

Resume Writing Tips – The Perfect Resume Template Part III: Your Personal Brand & Professional Summary’s That Captivate Recruiters

By Career, Resume Writing One Comment

PART III OF IV IN THE “RESUME WRITING TIPS – THE PERFECT RESUME TEMPLATE” SERIES

In the last post titled, “RESUME WRITING TIPS – THE PERFECT RESUME TEMPLATE – PART II: THE “CAREER PLANNING BLUEPRINT” & THE DATA-DRIVEN JOB SEEKER” you learned the importance of being a data-driven job seeker, and each stage of the job search “funnel” that you need to advance through to progress successfully in your job search. As part of this funnel, once you get your resume or profile in front of a Recruiter’s eyes, you only have ~6 seconds to catch their attention before they move on. Crafting an eye-catching Professional Summary at the top of your resume is your one chance to coax Recruiters deeper into your experience, skills, and successes. You had better get it right, and after reading this article, you’ll have the intel you need to stop Recruiters in their tracks and even make an unforgettable connection.

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WHAT MAKES THE “PERFECT” RESUME TEMPLATE?

By now, you may be starting to wonder “what makes the perfect resume?” as the title of this series indicates. We’ve already covered some critical aspects, but let’s go through all of them from a holistic perspective.

  1. Do you have the requisite skills & experience
    1. Keywords that align with searches
    2. Content that scores high in (gets past) ATS filters and bots
  2. Is your resume appealing to humans
    1. Does your desire for this job make sense in your career arc
    2. Properly formatted – no grammatical, spelling or formatting errors
    3. What separates you from the masses

We’ve covered #1 by integrating the proper Keywords in “Resume Writing Tips – The Perfect Resume Template – Part I: SEO, Keywords, & Bots. Oh, My!” Using a Career Planning Blueprint we can ensure that our career arc makes sense, which we covered in “Resume Writing Tips – The Perfect Resume Template – Part II: The “Career Planning Blueprint” & The Data-Driven Job Seeker.” Now, the next two items are more aligned with your Personal Brand, which we’ll cover next.

ARTICULATING YOUR “PERSONAL BRAND” TO SET YOURSELF APART

First, let’s talk a little bit about your Personal Brand. While we won’t get into the minutiae of what makes a “brand,” for simplicity, we’ll define your Personal Brand as everything you do that represents you, including the style of elements, fonts, layout, colors, images and language you use in your resume, LinkedIn Profile, blog, posts, presentations, social media sites, etc.

If you haven’t given much thought to your Personal Brand, perhaps now is a great time. You want to create an image that reinforces the position that you are pursuing. You want to create parity between all of your online presences, to present a consistent theme, quality, and experience to everyone with whom your brand touches.

WHY YOU MAY WANT TO SANITIZE YOUR ONLINE PRESENCE FIRST

60% of employers view social media profiles of candidates. What is your social media profile saying about you, the job candidate? If you haven’t viewed your Facebook, Instagram or LinkedIn profile through the lens of a hiring manager, please take a few moments now to do so. Then, integrate a few of these tips to improve your job search using social media.

Now, you have already started on the journey to hone your Personal Brand. Remember this is not a one-off; your Personal Brand is built over time and across all of the touchpoints that Recruiters and hiring managers will have on your job search journey. Therefore, moving forward, you will keep your Personal Brand in mind as you create more content on the wild, wild web.

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YOUR PROFESSIONAL SUMMARY/TAGLINE AND WHY IT MATTERS

OK, you’ve bypassed several hurdles in the job search quest, and you’ve got your resume in front of a Recruiter’s eyes. It’s the moment of truth. Your objective is now twofold:

  1. Reinforce your product-market fit for the role
  2. Set yourself apart from and above the competition

You’ve crafted your past employment experience to align perfectly with the job for which you are being considered, but we need to use the top of your resume to entice them to look deeper. We do this through the “Professional Summary.”

The Professional Summary is your executive summary at the top of your resume, and it includes a sentence that highlights your years of experience, discipline, and highly relevant experience. Think of it as a (generally) one-sentence elevator pitch that highlights the key attributes that a potential employer or Recruiter would need to qualify you for a position. We’ll also re-purpose this one sentence as your “Tagline” for your LinkedIn Profile, albeit limited to 120 characters as this is the limit set by LinkedIn.

Your Professional Summary and Tagline should include these four elements:

  • Desired or current profession and years of experience
  • Relevant skills
  • Degrees (e.g. MBA), Certifications or professional memberships
  • Industries

Each of these keystone elements is an opportunity to include high-value Keywords that Recruiters may be searching for. While not all of these elements may make sense for every opportunity, it provides a good blueprint upon which to build your own Professional Summary. Here’s just one example of a Professional Summary:

CMO, MBA & Mechanical Engineer with 13 years experience launching SaaS startups, scaling predictable growth, and hitting revenue targets in Enterprise FinTech, and Healthcare.

Just below this, we include a bulleted list of our “Offering,” or the strategies and tactics we plan on implementing in our new role to hit the ground running. Again, this is an opportunity to integrate high-value Keywords near the top of our resume or profile for the search algorithms, bots, and Recruiters, but it also demonstrates initiative on what we’re excited to bring to the table when we are hired. Here’s an example of an Offering:

  • Develop a growth strategy, execute hands-on tactics and build an agile marketing team
  • Leverage analytics, A/B testing and experimentation to demonstrate ROI of initiatives
  • Implement a lead-to-revenue marketing automation process, with content and analytics
  • Partner with cross-functional teams to rapidly scale successful, high-visibility growth projects, programs and campaigns across new and proven digital channels

Notice the abundance of skill set specific Keywords riddled throughout, and a theme for each bullet: 1) hands-on tactics and building a team. 2) testing and measurement. 3) marketing automation and content. 4) cross-functional collaboration

Combined, the Professional Summary and Offering deliver a powerful introductory statement that greets Recruiters within the first few seconds of reviewing our resume. Remember, Recruiters are most likely reviewing hundreds of resumes and profiles every day, so you only have a few seconds to capture their attention.

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INFUSING YOUR PROFESSIONAL SUMMARY WITH YOUR PERSONAL BRAND

While the examples above cover the “blocking and tackling” fundamentals, the purpose of this blog series is to give you that edge that puts you ahead of your peers and makes you standout from the crowd.

Your Personal Summary is the perfect canvas on which to showcase your Personal Brand. What is it that makes you unique, memorable or an invaluable employee? It could be a special skill, such as being a charismatic speaker, or it could be a cause, such as volunteering or only wanting to work for socially responsible companies. Infusing this passion will make your resume more memorable, which could mean the difference between getting a call, versus ending up in the circular file. Here’s an example Personal Brand statement:

Nonprofit Director with 9 years of experience fundraising in the childcare services field, making a difference one adoption at a time

Can you see how this could create an unforgettable latch point that separates your resume from the masses?

While you may choose to integrate this in your Professional Summary, you have the opportunity to integrate an emotive Personal Brand statement in your LinkedIn profile in the Tagline, but within only 120 characters. Here’s an example LinkedIn Tagline that drew compliments from several Recruiters and created a memorable bond:

Head of Marketing – Acquisition (SEO, PPC) & Engagement; Startup on the Inside, Enterprise on the Outside

Take a few moments and reimagine your Professional Summary and Offering bullets and integrate your Personal Brand statement. Then monitor your performance and feedback, and watch it improve over time. If it doesn’t improve, then you may need to iterate taking a different creative angle.

CONCLUSION

By now you understand the importance of crafting your resume to appeal to both machines (ATS bots, SEO) and humans. You also understand that the Professional Summary and Tagline are but a glancing opportunity to catch the Recruiter’s attention and leave an indelible mark in their memory. Make the most of it following the tips in this post and infusing your Personal Brand.

In the next and final post in this series titled, “RESUME WRITING TIPS – THE PERFECT RESUME TEMPLATE – PART IV: GET RECRUITERS TO PURSUE YOU!,” we’ll talk about how to structure your past experience to reinforce your value through your quantified successes (this was the #1 common request from Recruiters interviewed in our “Expert Recruiter Round-up”) and finally how to wrap everything up together to get Recruiters to pursue you! You’ve come this far, don’t procrastinate, read Part IV in the Perfect Resume Template series!

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Resume Writing Tips – The Perfect Resume Template Part II: The “Career Planning Blueprint” & The Data Driven Job Seeker

By Career, Resume Writing 9 Comments

PART II OF IV IN THE “RESUME WRITING TIPS – THE PERFECT RESUME TEMPLATE” SERIES

In last week’s post titled “RESUME WRITING – PART I: SEO, KEYWORDS, & BOTS. OH MY!,” we covered the importance that technology plays in your job search, in both the ATS “Bots” that filter online applications and the SEO and Keywords you need to adopt to thwart this. This week, we break down why you need to take a more strategic and data-driven approach to your job search, including understanding the phases of the job search and mapping out a strategy to navigate the process to achieve your desired job search objective. We’ll also introduce you to a job search “Framework” that can help you achieve more and in less time with a little planning. Let’s get started!

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THE JOB SEARCH FUNNEL

Before we get too deep, I want to take a few minutes to discuss the various stages and objectives of each stage in the job search journey.

You have to start thinking like a marketer or salesperson and view the job search as a series of stages, or a “funnel.” If you don’t succeed in any stage, then you won’t proceed to the next stage deeper in the process. Here is a simplified representation of the stages in the job search funnel:

  1. Drafting a resume/online profile
  2. Appearing in searches by Recruiters (getting through ATS Bot filters)
  3. Getting Recruiters to click into/view your profile
  4. Earning a communication from a Recruiter (e.g. message and screening call)
  5. Interview with a hiring manager (multiple rounds possible here)
  6. Offer
  7. Acceptance

We’ll divide these stages into two parts of the funnel: Top of Funnel (TOF) and Bottom of Funnel (BOF), with TOF encompassing steps #1-#4, and BOF including steps #5-#7.

So, where do you think makes the most sense to put your efforts first TOF of BOF? Below you’ll see a data-driven example that clearly surfaces where you need to put your focus first, and why it is a multiplier of your efforts.

THE DAWN OF THE DATA DRIVEN JOB SEEKER

Many people choose to solicit help with interviewing (Step #5) first when they still haven’t perfected earlier stages in the funnel. This can greatly diminish your performance as you’ll see from the following example around Recruiters’ interaction with your online resume or LinkedIn profile:

Top of Funnel (Appearance in Searches, Profile Views, Inquiries) –> Bottom of Funnel (Interviews)

Note: %’s indicate the conversion rate or what percent of Recruiters advance you to the next stage

SCENARIO #1: IMPROVE BOF FIRST

1000 Recruiters x 20% Appearance in Searches (=200) x 20% Profile View AKA click-thru rate (=40) x 25% Inquiries (=10) x 10% Interviews (=1).

If you double the “Bottom of Funnel” Interview rate from 10% to 20%, by only focusing on your Interview skills, you now go from 1 to 2 interviews.

SCENARIO #2: IMPROVE TOF FIRST

For simplicity, we’ll say you get the same “double” improvement that we used for the “Bottom of Funnel” example above for “Top of Funnel” (e.g. 20% Appearance in Searches & Profile Views goes to 40%, 25% Inquiries goes to 50%). And we’ll keep the BOF Interview conversion rate at 10%:

1000 Recruiters x 40% Appearance in Searches (=400) x 40% Profile View AKA click-thru rate (=160) x 50% Inquiries (=80) x 10% Interviews (=8).

You now get 8 Interviews instead of 2. That’s a 300% increase!!! Clearly, focusing on Top of Funnel is a more urgent need and delivers 4x the results. Focus your time now on what will deliver the greatest results moving forward.

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ARE YOU MERELY “FALLING FORWARD” IN YOUR CAREER OR “PLANNING” FOR SUCCESS

We’ve covered in detail the stages of the job search funnel where you interact with a Recruiter, but there is an even more important phase that exists prior to this that most job seekers omit altogether: Career Planning.

When you set out on a road trip, vacation or journey do you just show up at the airport without a destination or just start driving and then “figure it out” once you get going?  Probably not.  However, many people take this same approach in career planning.

Do you have a map for your career? Do you know what you want your next job to be, what title and what salary?  If not, you may be leaving your future to chance and money on the table. “So, Mr. Smartypants, what are we supposed to do?” you ask?

Develop a plan for your career that maps out what positions you’ve held, subsequent positions you desire, and how you plan on achieving them. I call this a “Career Planning Blueprint” (CPB), which is a Framework that will help you achieve more, faster and earn more money in your lifetime from your career.

CAREER PLANNING BLUEPRINT: THE FRAMEWORK THAT MULTIPLIES YOUR JOB SEARCH EFFORTS

The Career Planning Blueprint is a cyclical “Framework” that you can follow that will help you map out your career goals and lay a clear path to achieve them.

First, let’s list out each phase of the CPB as we move clockwise from the top in the illustration below:

  1. Build Your Career Planning Blueprint
  2. Measure Success
  3. Determine Target Position
  4. Self-Assessment
  5. Education, Training & Certification
  6. Product-Market Fit
  7. Marketing & Branding
  8. Convert Opportunities

job-search-funnel

Now let’s cover what each phase entails:

Build Your Career Planning Blueprint – Understand what a CPB is and why you need one. Commit to creating a plan for your career so you know where you are heading and have a plan to get there faster than simply “falling forward.”

Measure Success – What does success look like to you?  Not only long-term success but more importantly short-term success.  For example, in your current role, how do you know when you have reached the point of diminishing returns, where you are no longer progressing at the pace you should be?  You do not want to become complacent if you aspire to grow your career, continue learning and increase your pay.  So, how do you know when you have achieved optimal success or your maximum potential in your current position?  Measuring your success is the answer.

Determine Target Position – First, you need to identify your current job search objective.  This is fundamental to the planning phase.  Are you looking for an immediate position?  Are you looking for a future position a few rungs up the corporate ladder away, say a Director role?  Perhaps you are an individual contributor and you need to obtain an intermediary position, such as a Manager role, before getting your target Director role. Only by understanding where you are at and where you want to be in the future, can you answer this question.

Self Assessment – You need to conduct a self-assessment, and have a true understanding of your skills, your desires, and values.  You need to look inside yourself and decided which skills you would like to use on the job. Are there passions that you would like to make a part of your career? How do your friends and family describe you? Are you an introvert? Do you have leadership qualities? Are you creative?  Are you best suited for a startup with little direction or a more structured environment? How important is money vs. work-life balance? The questions are unending.  Your interests, personal qualities, values, and skills play a vital role when you start planning your career.  These questions need to be answered beforehand.  You are the product that you are selling, so you need to know the product. You will answer these questions and what you learn might surprise you.

Education, Training, Certification – Is there a gap in your skill set that you need to fill before you can advance to your target position? If so, you may need to get some additional education, training or certification. While this phase may not be required for every job search or advancement, it is important to be aware of this and consider it as part of your CPB journey.

Product-Market Fit – How do your skills and qualifications match up with what is currently available in the market?  Are the positions you are currently looking at realistic given your qualifications and station in your career?  Do you need to obtain more training, skills or certifications?  What is the shortest path to get to where you want to be? By taking stock of the opportunities in the current job ecosystem you will learn how to tailor your qualifications to fit the needs of the Market and guarantee your best chances of acquiring your target role.

Marketing & Branding – Now that you have identified your goal, understood your product (skills) and adapted the Product-Market Fit, it’s time to put your plan into action to obtain your desired position.  You need to market yourself, highlight the relevant attributes, and expose the right audience to make this a reality.  It’s time for your great “reveal” to show your next company what they have been missing and why you are the answer they didn’t know they were looking for.

Convert Opportunities – This includes all of the BOF activities, including interviewing, negotiating and accepting an offer.  Additionally, before going into any position you should already have your exit strategy mapped out.  You should know what you want to get out of this position and how to know when you have received it so you can move on.  Whether it’s moving laterally or vertically in the same organization or changing companies altogether, you should plan your exit just like you planned your entrance.

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CONCLUSION

You get what you measure. – Anonymous

Once that we have leveraged all of the above items to build a Career Planning Blueprint, it’s time to implement the plan. Most people spend more time researching which TV to buy than they spend mapping out their career goals. Why does this happen? Because thinking about your career is challenging. Generally people just “fall forward” into the next position that is offered to them.  In fact, most people get severely off course from their initial career goals, because they don’t stop to think “will this position get me closer or farther away from where I truly want to be in 5 years, and where exactly is that?”

In the next post titled, “RESUME WRITING TIPS – THE PERFECT RESUME TEMPLATE – PART III: YOUR PERSONAL BRAND & PROFESSIONAL SUMMARY’S THAT CAPTIVATE RECRUITERS” we’ll talk about the “Professional Summary” area of your resume and how it can make or break your print resume, and how you can leverage it in your online resume along with high-value Keywords to boost your resume’s performance even more.  Why stop the resume lovefest, keep’on reading Part III!

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Resume Writing Tips – The Perfect Resume Template Part I: SEO, Keywords, & Bots. Oh My!

By Career, Resume Writing No Comments

PART I OF IV IN THE “RESUME WRITING TIPS – THE PERFECT RESUME TEMPLATE” SERIES

Welcome to the “Perfect Resume” blog article series. Over the next few articles, you are going to learn some great tips that you can immediately implement to improve your resume dramatically. If you are really serious about improving your job search, I suggest you take the FREE  5-Day “Resume Revive + Thrive” CHALLENGE  to get a professional resume template for free. Ok, on to the good stuff!

Technology pervades our everyday life, so why haven’t you updated the way that you write your resume?  In this article, you’re going to learn why you have to modernize your job search, and how to get started.

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THE STATE OF RESUME WRITING AND JOB SEARCHES

First, let’s talk a little bit about how the job search landscape has changed with an example.

Scenario #1:  Let’s say you dust off your old school resume, convert it into a digital format and set about your way on a job search. Maybe you know the company you want to work for, so you go to their website, find the job listings and the job you fancy, and submit your resume via their online application process. And you wait. And you wait…and you wait.

IF you are lucky, you’ll get some sort of an acknowledgment that your resume was received. Much less likely, you’ll get a response with some sort of resolution (i.e. “Thanks but no thanks.” or “Let’s schedule a call.”).

My friend, your resume is now in the “black hole” of online job applications.

Scenario #2: Now, let’s take a look at a more optimal outcome.  First, you use SEO (Search Engine Optimization) and Keyword research to build a resume with the top terms that Recruiters are looking for.  Then you park your online resume on a site where Recruiters are already searching.  Your resume comes up in more searches than your peers.  Your resume appears higher up in the list of candidates.  Now, you’re up to bat, what will you do with this opportunity. Well, since this is our “best case” scenario, you’ll dazzle them with the pinhole of information that they initially see among all the candidates that surfaced in their search, and they are enticed to click into your resume for a more complete view.  Here, within a few seconds, they become a raving fan of yours.  They want to meet you, they want to become best friends, but for now they’ll settle with reaching out to connect with you.  BOOM! Drop microphone, walk offstage, you just nailed the job search game.  It’s a shame that you only play this every few years, because damn, you’re good.

So, which scenario do you prefer?

If you prefer Scenario #2, and I’m sure you do because that’s why you are here, then let’s get started with some cold hard facts in the next section that should guide your job search strategy.

REFERRALS: STILL THE BEST WAY TO GET HIRED

Let’s take a look at the definition of an “Employee Referral” from Wikipedia:

Employee referral is an internal recruitment method employed by organizations to identify potential candidates from their existing employees’ social networks. An  employee referral scheme encourages a company’s existing employees to select and recruit suitable candidates from their social networks.”

  • 30%–50% of hires come from referred candidates (not cold applications)
  • Referred candidates are four times more likely to be hired than non-referrals
  • Referrals lead to a whopping 85% of critical jobs being filled
  • Therefore, the best jobs are generally never posted publicly

As you can see, getting “referred” is the best way to get your resume in front of Recruiters and hiring managers.

You’ll still need a well-crafted resume, so why not build one that will satisfy Recruiters as well as get past any bots.

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SEO VERSUS THE BOTS: USE TECHNOLOGY TO BEAT TECHNOLOGY

ATS or Application Tracking Systems are software that handles recruitment needs, including filtering out the wheat from the chaff (i.e. strong candidates from weak candidates). These ATS bots “score” every application based on how well it matches the criteria specified by the Recruiter. Higher scoring resumes are forwarded to the Recruiter for consideration, while lower scoring resumes are bypassed, and essentially filtered out by the ATS bots (i.e. sent to the “black hole” of online submissions).

“With the advent of ATS, resume optimization techniques and online tools are now used by applicants to increase their chances of landing a screening call.”

In other words, as these ATS filters improve, so too do you need to get smarter in how you write your resume. SEO, or Search Engine Optimization, is a technique where you reverse-engineer how the search engines (or in this case Bots) work, to increase your chances of getting your optimal outcome (i.e. scoring high and getting past the Bots). Employing SEO is a case of working smarter.

Bots are dumb. They look for certain criteria, just like Recruiters do, and bypass (score low) those resumes that don’t have the magic words.

So, what are the magic words?

We’ll call them “Keywords” and you are going to learn all about them in the next section.

KEYWORDS: NOT ALL WORDS ARE CREATED EQUAL

Recruiters are tasked with matching the right candidate’s background to the needs of the role. Their input is the job description for the target job requisition they are trying to fill. What they use to match against are the resumes of applicants or potential applicants. In theory, the best fit or match justifies advancing the candidate to the next phase of the job search funnel; contacting the applicant for a phone screen.

There are infinite ways to describe your past experience. Use the wrong terms and you won’t match up against what the Recruiter is searching for. You need to find and implement the RIGHT Keywords, including synonyms, and even buzzwords. Check out this article to understand Keywords, and pay special attention to the “long-tail” section at the bottom.

When you use the right Keywords, the results can be staggering.  You can go from feeling like you are the only person on LinkedIn (“Hello? Is anyone there?”), to feeling like a celebrity.

You can gather the relevant Keywords from a variety of sources, the most impactful being the job descriptions of the jobs you are pursuing. You can also get great Keywords from more creative outlets like trade groups, meetups, newsletters, news, and blogs.

You now have enough of the “what” you need to do to start this exercise on your own.  Create a list of the top 10-20 Keywords specific to your target job that you need to integrate into your resume and LinkedIn profile.  Then monitor your performance. Are you getting more inquiries? Better inquiries? Inquiries for broader positions (more Keywords)?

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CONCLUSION

If you are not updating your job search method to match the times, then you will not achieve maximum results. While getting referred for a position gives you the stage upon which to shine, your resume still needs to wow Recruiters and hiring managers to advance in the hiring process. Employing SEO techniques centered around using the right Keywords will greatly improve chances that your resume get’s through the Bots blender, and aligns with the job description Recruiters are trying to fill.

In the next post titled, “RESUME WRITING TIPS – THE PERFECT RESUME TEMPLATE – PART II: THE “CAREER PLANNING BLUEPRINT” & THE DATA DRIVEN JOB SEEKER,” we’ll talk about where you need to be focusing your efforts in your job search to deliver the maximum benefit using data-driven examples.  We’ll also introduce you to a new job search “Framework” that can help you achieve more out of your career in less time with a little bit of forethought and planning. Keep reading…!

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